picture_1 picture_2 picture_3 picture_4 picture_5 picture_6 picture_7 picture_8

The 8th IEEE International Symposium on Security, Privacy and Anonymity in Internet of Things
held in conjunction with IEEE TrustCom-15

August 20-22, 2015, Helsinki, Finland

With the extensive research and development of computer, communication and control technologies, it is possible to connect all things to the Internet such that the so-called Internet of Things (IoT) can be formed. These things may be equipped with devices such as sensors, actuators, and RFID tags, in order to allow people and things to be connected anytime and anywhere, with anything and anyone. IoT will enable collaborations and communications among people and things, and among things themselves, which expand the current Internet and will radically change our personal, corporate, and community environments. When more and more things connect to the Internet, security and privacy issues become more serious, especially in the case that these things are equipped with actuators and can support control.

For better protection of secure communication and user privacy, including location, identity and behavior habits, it is necessary to develop anonymous communication theories, methods and key technologies of anonymous communication systems in all varieties of application environments. Anonymous communication is used to hide communication participants or communication relations so as to achieve effective protection for network nodes and user identities. Anonymous communication can address potential network security issues, and becomes one of the hot topics in the field of network and information security.

Scope and Interests
SpaIoT 2015 aims at providing a forum for discussing the latest academic and industrial research results in all aspects of security and privacy in IoT. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Security, privacy architectures for IoT
  • Security, privacy platforms for IoT
  • Security, privacy applications for IoT
  • Architecture for anonymous communication system
  • Resilience to external and internal attacks in IoT
  • Anonymity measures and evaluation
  • Anonymous communication in IoT
  • Anonymous communication & privacy protection
  • Anonymous browsing system

Submission and Publication Information

Papers submitted to the symposium should be written in English conforming to the IEEE Conference Proceedings Format (8.5" x 11", Two-Column). The paper should be submitted through the symposium submission system at the symposium website. The length of the papers should not exceed 6 pages + 2 pages for over length charges.

Accepted and presented papers will be included into the IEEE Conference Proceedings published by IEEE CS CPS and submitted to IEEE Xplore and CSDL. Authors of accepted papers, or at least one of them, are requested to register and present their work at the conference, otherwise their papers will be removed from the digital libraries of IEEE CS after the conference. Distinguished papers presented at the conference, after further revision, will be recommended to special issues of reputable SCI/EI-indexed journals.

Submitting a paper to the symposium means that, if the paper is accepted, at least one author should attend the symposium and present the paper.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: March 31st May 1st, 2015
Authors notification: May 31st, 2015
Camera-ready due: July 1st, 2015
Registration: July 1st, 2015

Steering Chairs

Guojun Wang, Central South University, China
Gregorio Martinez, University of Murcia, Spain

General Co-Chairs

Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA
Jose M. Alcaraz Calero, University of the West of Scotland, UK

Program Co-Chairs

Felix Gomez Marmol, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
Juan E. Tapiador, The University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain
Mianxiong Dong, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT), Japan

Program Committee (in alphabetical order)

Afrand Agah, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, USA
Mohamad Badra, Zayed University, UAE
Sachin Kumar Agrawal, University of Limerick (UL), Ireland
Reaz Ahmed, University of Waterloo, Canada
Mehran Asadi, Lincoln University of Pennsylvania, USA Cataldo Basile, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Pino Caballero-Gil, University of La Laguna, Spain
Mauro Conti, University of Padua, Italy
Garth V. Crosby, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, USA
Nora Cuppens-Boulahia, IMT / TELECOM Bretagne
Yao Guo, Peking University, China
Ying Guo, Central South University, China
Hsiang-Cheh Huang, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Qasim Raza Iqbal, Jaguar Land Rover Cars Ltd, UK
Youssef Iraqi, Khalifa University of Science, Technology, and Research, The United Arab Emirat
Xin Jin, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Wissam Mallouli, Montimage, French
Juan Pedro Munoz-Gea, Technical University of Cartagena, Spain
Renita Murimi, Oklahoma Baptist University, USA
Hebert Perez-Roses, University of Lleida, Spain
Pedro Peris-Lopez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Zeeshan Pervez, University of the West of Scotland, UK
Altair Olivo Santin, Pontifical Catholic University of Parana, Brazil
Kaoru Ota, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
Gang Tan, Lehigh University, USA
Qiang Tang, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Lanier A. Watkins, The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, USA
Yu Wu, Arizona State Unviersity, USA
Congxu Zhu, Central South University, China

Publicity Co-Chairs

Wenbin Jiang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Md. Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Central South University, China


Please email inquiries concerning the symposium to Prof. Guojun Wang and the symposium organizer.

Aalto ELEC